Warming Trend

9 thoughts on “Warming Trend”

  1. “Curbside” is my friendly way of saying, “While driving down the street, I spotted some wonderfully rejected treasure, threw my car in reverse, and shoved all pride aside as I hopped out, took something out of someone’s garbage and brought it home.”

    LOL 🙂 I do the same…crates become containers for growing veg, Pallets, flowerpots anything that can be recycled! We have communal bins…so it’s not like your going down someones personal rubbish. In the same theme if I don’t want somehting I leave it y the bins, and sure enough within the hour it’s gone.

    In the UK use to be called wombleing after the Wombles of Wimbledon common.

  2. Listen to the womble song

    “They make good use of the things that they find”

    I think this was one of the first”Green” TV progs aimed at kids in the UK. 🙂

    We also have another term “Hippy Chic” pronounced “Sheek”

    Thats something a little worn but with charm. 🙂

  3. I have no qualms about taking other people’s discards and it’s a wonderful way of getting rid of stuff yourself. In my street in London, you just leave something outside for an hour or so and it’s gone.

  4. I am an avid curbside wombler….my other half tends to try to distract me when he spots any large pile of debris or a skip when we are going anywhere in case I fancy a rummage!

      1. I think he secretly quite enjoys having a resourceful other half that would rather spend the day scouring the charity shops than spending all our hard earned cash in an expensive bric-a-brac boutique.

        He also quite likes showing me off…’Look at what she made for christmas presents this year…’

        I think what he struggles with is holding my legs whilst I dive head first into a skip….or getting up at the crack of dawn to hold the purse strings and the tape measure (“That won’t fit in the car dear….”) at a car boot sale.

        And as long as I tell him exactly where it is going to live and it doesn’t affect him too much, I generally get away with it!

Leave a Reply

